[General] Alert - Beijing ticket scam!
Majed B.
majedb at gmail.com
Mon Aug 4 20:48:46 +03 2008
If the registrar was under US or European soil and laws, it would've
been brought down immediately by some federal judge.
I checked the whois records of the site:
http://whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=beijingticketing&tld=com
The registrar (enom) is American. The company, has an address in the
US but the phone number is in UK.
I guess the legal system in the US will take some time (more than 8
hours ;) ) to take action.
This has been planned for a long time, since the domain's creation
date was in May 2007.
As for Google, they don't block/delete fraudulent site records, as
they're not spamming, or intended to tamper with the search results
themselves.
On Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 12:49 PM, Abdullateef Al-Abdulrazzaq
<abdullateef at abdulaziz.com> wrote:
>
> Some time about March this year a major scam site called
> www.beijingticketing.com
>
> was apparently first exposed as fraudulent but not too many people took any
> notice Today it is all over the news as many people have purchased fake
> Olympic tickets and lost their money.
>
>
>
> But what surprises me is that, a good 8 hours after major news stories about
> the site, it is still operating as I write this message. And it still
> appears in Google search results.
>
>
>
> Very interested in analysis of why this is so when it is a known major fraud
> site that has victims in many countries. Is there any mechanism to stop
> major international scams? Or is it just a matter of waiting until everyone
> else wakes up? Apparently there is a court case in California today to close
> down the site? Is this because the registry or the registrar is located in
> the USA?
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> General mailing list
> General at oskw.org
> http://mail.oskw.org/mailman/listinfo/general_oskw.org
>
>
--
Majed B.
More information about the General
mailing list